What is HACCP?

HACCP (Hazards and Critical Control Points) is an internationally recognized system for reducing the risk of safety hazards in food. This system requires that potential hazards are identified and controlled at specific points in the process, be it biological, chemical or physical hazards. HACCP can be used for companies involved in the manufacturing, processing or handling of food products to eliminate food safety hazards. 

7 Steps of HACCP

HACCP is can be categorized into 7 steps: 

  1. Conduct a Hazard Analysis
  2. Identify Critical Control Points
  3. Establish Control Procedures
  4. Establish Critical Limits
  5. Establish Corrective Actions
  6. Establish Record Keeping Procedures
  7. Establish Verification Procedures

HACCP Certification

BVS has taken the steps to minimize and eliminate potential hazards throughout production and distribution. BVS plays an important part in our nation's food supply, thus we have put forth the effort in achieving our HACCP certification, and are committed to the principles of SFSF, HACCP and FSMA.